A+ A A-


Attention PIO Card Holders

For urgent attention of PIO card holders

The deadline for conversion of PIO cards into OCI cards has been extended on several occasions in the past and the latest such extension has fixed the deadline as December 31, 2017

All PIO card holders are requested to note that any request for conversion of PIO card to OCI card after the expiry of the current deadline of December 31, 2017 will attract a fee of USD 275.

It is also made clear that those travelling to India on the strength of their PIO cards (handwritten) after ICAO’s rules/guidelines (with respect to travel with machine readable travel documents) come into effect from October/November, 2018, will be refused entry at the Indian immigration counters and sent back.

Стипендиальная программа для детей из диаспоры (СПДД)

Стипендиальная программа для детей из диаспоры (СПДД) на учебный год сезона 2017-18 будет запущена 17-го июля 2017 г. Интернет-портал, где можно ознакомиться с ней подробней: Последний срок подачи заявки в режиме онлайн – 30.09.2017.

Revision of ICWF charges

The consular surcharge for all visa & consular services stands revised with effect from 28 November 2016 (Monday) to Russian Rubles 95.

Advisory for e-Visa applicants

(1) The nomenclature of the existing ‘e-Tourist Visa’ has been changed to ‘e-Visa’ with three sub-categories i.e. ‘e-Tourist Visa’, ‘e-Business Visa’ and ‘e-Medical Visa’ which will be available to the nationals of 161 countries/territories (list available on the website of the e-Visa).

(2) Following activities will be permitted under e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa and e-Medical Visa:-

(a) e-Tourist Visa : Recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, and attending a short term yoga programme.

(b) e-Business Visa : Casual business visits.

(c) e-Medical Visa : Medical treatment, including treatment under Indian systems of medicine.

Note : A foreign national will also be permitted to club these activities provided he/she had clearly indicated the same in the application form along with requisite documents.

(3) The international traveler should hold a passport with a minimum validity of 6 months from the date of arrival in India and a re-entry permit, if that is required under the law of the country of nationality of the applicant.  The passport should have at least 2 blank pages for stamping by the immigration officer.

Procedure for applying for e-Visa

In order to avail of the facility of e-Visa, the foreign national concerned shall mandatorily fill in the application online on the e-Visa website

The applications are cleared in 72-hours and an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) slip will be sent to the email ID provided by the applicant.  The visitor is expected to travel to India with this authorization and a passport with a minimum remaining validity of 6 months.  In view of the 72-hrs taken for clearance, visitors are expected to apply for e-Visa at least 4 days before the date of their journey to India.  However, the applicants may apply online in advance within a window of 120 days from the date of arrival in India.

Entry Points

The e-Visa will be provided only at the 24 designated international airports (Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Calicut, Chennai, Chandigarh, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Tiruchirappalli, Trivandrum and Varanasi) and 3 designated seaports, i.e., Cochin, Goa, Mangalore.  However, the foreigner can take exit from any of the authorized immigration check point in India.


An e-Visa will be valid for entry and stay in India within the period of its validity, subject to the conditions specified.  The immigration officer may grant a double-entry e-Tourist Visa or e-Business Visa upto a period of 60 days to the passport holders of the countries covered by the e-Visa scheme.  Triple entry e-Medical Visa may be granted which can be extended by another 6 months on a case-to-case basis on its merit by the Foreigners Regional Registration Officer (FRRO)/ Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) concerned.

Conditions for e-Visa

e-Visa can neither be extended nor converted to any other kind of visa during the visa holder’s stay in India except under exceptional circumstances like medical reasons, marriage, PIOs who are otherwise eligible for normal Indian visa etc.

Fee for e-Visa

e-Visa fee is country/territory specific and is non-refundable once the visa fee is submitted.  A fee of US $ 75 or equivalent amount in Indian Rupees per passenger (including children) will be charged from Russian nationals as e-Visa fee besides a bank transaction charge of 2.5%.  The remaining nationals of other countries/territory may check the e-Visa website for the fees to be paid by them.

Repeat visits

e-Visa can be availed for a maximum of 2 times in a calendar year, i.e., January to December. 

Miscellaneous Information

         i.            The e-Visa facility shall not be available to the holders of Diplomatic/Official passport holders or laissez passer travel document holders or international travel document holders or individuals endorsed on parents/spouses’ passports;

       ii.            International travelers having Pakistani passport or Pakistani origin may apply for regular visa at the Indian Mission;

      iii.            Restriction of one application per email ID per month has been removed;

For any assistance call e-Visa Support Centre at +91-11-24300666 which will be available 24X7 or one can send an email at  Этот адрес электронной почты защищен от спам-ботов. У вас должен быть включен JavaScript для просмотра.

Consular Services i.e Visa and Consular Services : General Information

Areas covered by the Consulate General of India, St. Petersburg, Russia

1. Leningrad Oblast
2. St. Petersburg
3. Republic of Komi
4. Arkhangelsk Oblast
5. Republic of Karelia
6. Pskov Oblast
7. Veliky Novgorod Oblast
8. Murmansk Oblast
9.Vologda Oblast

Areas covered by the Consulate General of India, Vladivostok, Russia

1. Primorye (Primorsky Krai)
2. Khabarovsk (Khabarovsky Krai)
3. Amur (Amurskaya Oblast)
4. Sakhalin (Sakhalinskaya Oblast)
5. Kamchatka (Kamchatsky Krai)
6. Jewish Autonomous Region (Jewish Autonomous Oblast )
7. Irkutsk (Irkutsky Krai)
8. Magadan (Magadanskaya Oblast)
9. Chukotka Autonomous District ( Chukotka Autonomous Okrug)
10. Republic of Buryatia
11. Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
12. Za-Baikal (Zabaikalsky Krai) 

* Remaining areas falls within the Consular Jurisdiction of the Embassy of India, Moscow


Stay Connected with EOI
Stay Connected with EOI
Stay Connected with EOI
Stay Connected with EOI
Stay Connected with EOI